Remembrance of Lost Species Day: A Benefit Concert – Tickets – Constellation – Chicago, IL – November 30th, 2017
Remembrance of Lost Species Day: A Benefit Concert

Remembrance of Lost Species Day: A Benefit Concert

Thu, November 30, 2017

7:30 pm

Constellation

Chicago, IL

$15.00

This event is 18 and over

Remembrance of Lost Species Day: A Benefit Concert
Remembrance of Lost Species Day: A Benefit Concert
Eight of Chicago’s finest singer-songwriters share a night of music to remember and mourn the species we have lost, and to celebrate and make commitments to those remaining. All proceeds benefit Wildlife Rehabilitation Center of Minnesota.

Phil Angotti - guitar
Robin Bienemann - guitar
Steve Dawson - guitar
Sarah Eide - digital piano (unless you have an in house piano...)
Rebecca Jasso - guitar
Jon Langford - guitar
Ami Saraiya - accordion

with Alisa Rosenthal as emcee

Driven by a growing coalition of artists, educators, museum curators,scientists and writers, Remembrance Day for Lost Species, November 30th, is a chance each year to learn and tell the stories of species driven extinct by human activities, and commit anew to what remains. In 2014, WWF-UK reported in its Living Planet report that Earth has lost half its wildlife in the last 40 years. However, worse is to come as climate change and habitat loss are leading us into the Sixth Mass Extinction. Now is the time to create new rituals for remembering and mourning those we have lost, and for celebrating and making commitments to those remaining.

Notable and up-and-coming Chicago songwriters will be playing short sets which each include a newly written song for an extinct (or nearly extinct) species.

Singer-songwriters performing are Jon Langford (jonlangford.de), Phil Angotti (philangotti.hearnow.com), Robin Bienemann (robinb.org), Sarah Eide (saraheide.com), Ami Saraiya (amisaraiya.com), Rebecca Jasso (rebeccajasso.com), Alisa Rosenthal (alisarosenthal.com), and Steve Dawson (stevedawsonmusic.com).

Animals to be sung about include the Honshu Wolf, Tazmanian Tiger, Small Mauritian Flying Fox, Passenger Pigeon and the Wooly Mammoth.

Comedian Alisa Rosenthal (aka Plucky Rosenthal) will be emceeing the event.

All proceeds to be sent to the Wildlife Rehabilitation Center of Minnesota (https://www.wrcmn.org), a nonprofit, donor-supported organization. The WRC was established in response to the increased need for medical care of injured, ill and orphaned wildlife. The center is one of the oldest and busiest wildlife medical hospitals in the nation. More than 600 volunteers care for, rehabilitate and release the wildlife that they've worked with. The WRC treats more than 13,000 wild animals every year, representing more than 185 different species.
Venue Information:
Constellation
3111 N. Western
Chicago, IL, 60618