Elliott Sharp, My Silence – Tickets – Constellation – Chicago, IL – September 20th, 2013
Elliott Sharp, My Silence

Experimental Sound Studio Present:

Elliott Sharp

My Silence

Fri, September 20, 2013

Doors: 9:00 pm / Show: 9:30 pm


Chicago, IL

$10.00 - $15.00

Tickets Available at the Door

This event is 21 and over

Elliott Sharp
Elliott Sharp
Sharp is an American multi-instrumentalist, composer, and performer.

A central figure in the avant-garde and experimental music scene in New York City for over 30 years, Elliott Sharp has released over eighty-five recordings ranging from orchestral music to blues, jazz, noise, no wave rock, and techno music. He leads the projects Carbon and Orchestra Carbon, Tectonics, and Terraplane and has pioneered ways of applying fractal geometry, chaos theory, and genetic metaphors to musical composition and interaction.

His collaborators have included Radio-Sinfonie Frankfurt; pop singer Debbie Harry; Ensemble Modern; Qawwali singer Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan; Kronos String Quartet; Ensemble Resonanz; cello innovator Frances Marie Uitti; blues legends Hubert Sumlin and Pops Staples; pipa virtuoso Min-Xiao Feng; jazz greats Jack deJohnette, Oliver Lake, and Sonny Sharrock; multimedia artists Christian Marclay and Pierre Huyghe; and Bachir Attar, leader of the Master Musicians Of Jajouka.

Sharp has composed scores for feature films and documentaries; created sound-design for interstitials on The Sundance Channel, MTV and Bravo networks; and has presented numerous sound installations in art galleries and museums. He is the subject of a new documentary "Doing The Don't" by filmmaker Bert Shapiro.

This special event is also brought to in part by Experiments in Space and Time which is an ongoing series of research and performance projects that investigates relationships among time-based art forms and spectators. The first project--EST:proximity--taking place at Elastic on September 21, will premiere sound and movement pieces by Elliott Sharp, Asimina Chremos, David Lakein, and Christopher Preissing. Click here for more information.
My Silence
Jason Stein - bass clarinet
Nick Butcher - electronics, keyboard
Mike Reed - drums
Venue Information:
3111 N. Western
Chicago, IL, 60618